Standing up for Canberra

Telstra Women in Business Awards 2012

The Telstra Women in Business Award is a very significant acknowledgment of businesswomen who are leaders, innovators and mentors. These awards recognise women who have been inspirational or successful or have shown tremendous leadership. I have long championed small business and women in business and I am proud to support the awards.

I want to pay particular tribute to the women in the ACT who won awards this year. The Telstra ACT Businesswoman of the Year is Dr Helen Watchirs, the ACT Human Rights and Discrimination Commissioner

Dr Watchirs was a human rights lawyer for 30 years and has been ACT Human Rights and Discrimination Commissioner since 2004. Helen is off to Sydney for the finals, and on behalf of everyone in the ACT I wish her the very best.

The Commonwealth Bank business owner award for 2012 went to Suzie Hoitink, from Clear Complexions Clinic. The Hudson Private and Corporate Sector Award went to Emma Luscombe from Antique Salon. The Nokia Business Innovation Award went to Amanda Pulford from FitSistas Pole and Fitness Studio. And, finally, the Young Business Women's Award went to Jocelyn Parsons of the Australian Maritime Safety Authority.

Download a copy of this speech.