Standing up for Canberra


I’m always keen to congratulate and recognise the great work done by the Canberra community.

That's why I established the Canberra Legends Program, to let Australia know about those people who help make our community such a special place. I’ll endeavour to speak about Canberra Legends in Parliament when parliamentary time permits.

If you would like to nominate a Canberra Legend, kindly print and submit this form to my office at 205 Anketell Street, Tuggeranong ACT 2900 or by fax to (02) 6293 1068 with details of your nominee.

Canberra Legends

JACKmail 2012

Jackmail is a unique microbusiness in Canberra, and I pay tribute to Jackson and Sally Richards.  

ACT Walking for Pleasure

It was a pleasure to recognise the activities of ACT Walking for Pleasure who have conducted over 6200 walks over 25 years. I strongly support their aims of encouraging walking as a health and fitness activity,

Rod Templar, Gwenyth George and Jess McConnell

Rod is a former senior Commonwealth and ACT public servant who has devoted an enormous amount of his time and energy to working for the CanberraCommunity. Gwenyth set up a group called Spiral in 1970 with the help of many outstanding Canberra volunteers and it is celebrating over 40 years of support for Canberra's older citizens. Jess, through her involvement with Scouting, St John Ambulance, Limelight and other community theatre productions, has held a variety of young leadership positions and completed thousands of volunteer hours.

John and Cheryl Keeley

A tribute to two outstanding Canberra residents who run the Narrabundah Newsagency.

Alex Halank and Business Awards

With the 2012 London Olympics approaching, I was delighted to recognise ten-year-old Alex Halank who is a windsurfing world champaion. It was great to present a copy of my speech to him at Chapman Primary. It was also an honour to acknowledge the 2012 Telstra Australian ACT Business Awards.

Valerie Reid

I was proud to be able to recognise the outstanding contribution Valerie Reid has made to the Canberra community. This pioneering business woman was the first person to submit a tender for tourist launches on the newly formed Lake Burley Griffin.

Gwenneth and George Atherton

I first had the honour of meeting Gwenneth and George at a mobile office I held at the Lanyon Market Place.  Gwenneth and George have for 12 years been selling their fantastic home made crafts to raise money for local charities, including Malkara School.

Liam Favelle

I was very pleased to be to recognise my youngest Canberra Legend yet. Liam Favelle helped his dad rescue some stranded bushwalkers in the Namadgi National Park.

Dr Peter Sharp

It was an honour to recognise the valuable contribution made by Dr Peter Sharp to Indigenous health services in the ACT and region, particularly Winnunga Nimmityjah in Narrabundah.


I was delighted with the election of Dr Chris Bourke to the ACT Legislative Assembly.  Chris is the first Indigenous member of the assembly and will continue to make a significant contribution to the Canberra community, particularly on Indigenous and men’s health issues.

Jim Murphy

Canberrans from all backgrounds were deeply saddened to learn of the death of Jim Murphy.  Jim made an enormous contribution to our community through his work in promoting ACT business to Australia and the world and advocating and fundraising for a range of charities. Vale Jim Murphy.

Christina Ryan

Christina Ryan is the General Manager of Advocacy for Inclusion and is a tireless and passionate advocate for people with a disability, especially women.

Liz Dawson

Liz is a tireless and tenacious advocate for the homeless and disadvantaged in the ACT. She is also one of the brains and drivers behind the Common Ground project here in Canberra.

Adrian Thearle

Adrian Thearle a young Canberra engineer was the recipient of the Australian Industry and Defence Network ACT Young Achiever Award.

Maureen Cane

Maureen Cane is a woman who has made an outstanding contribution to the Canberra Community. She has recently retired after 10 years as chief executive officer of Communities@Work.

Professor Frank Fenner

Professor Fenner has contributed to some of this country’s and the world’s greatest scientific achievements and also became an authority on extinction.

Housing Industry Association-CSR Housing Awards

The awards presented by the Housing Industry Association acknowledge the great work done by our architects, builders and interior designers in building quality, sustainable housing and renovations from $15,000 to over $900,000.

Safe Work ACT Award Winners

The ACT Department of Education and Training, St John Ambulance Australia, Hyatt Hotel Canberra and James Bodsworth were the recipients of the Safe Work ACT Awards recently announced in Canberra.

St Mary Mackillop 

The recent canonisation of St Mary of the Cross has special significance for my electorate. One of the things that so many Canberrans admire about Mother Mary is her legacy on education.