Standing up for Canberra

Draft Redistribution

Any fair, democratic system should be as close as possible to one vote, one value.

By this measure, the people of the ACT have been the most under-represented community in Australia for too long, which is why I welcome today’s release of the draft redistribution of the electorate boundaries for three seats by the Australian Electoral Commission.

The AEC’s suggestion that the southern most seat be named after Charles Bean acknowledges his strong connection to the Tuggeranong Homestead and the valley. It’s a tribute to the war correspondent and historian who chronicled Australia’s contribution to World War 1 and the man who was instrumental in establishing the Australian War Memorial.

Subject to preselection, I plan to stand in the southern most seat.

I have long advocated for a third seat in the ACT, so I encourage Canberrans to actively engage in the shaping and naming of all three of them.

Please have your say by 4 May:

- Email:;
- In person during business hours: The Australian Electoral Commission, Level 1, 50 Marcus Clarke Street, Canberra
- Mail: The Australian Electoral Commission (Att: Redistribution Secretariat), Locked Bag 4007, CANBERRA ACT 2601; and
- Fax: 02 6293 7660.