Standing up for Canberra

ACT volunteers recognised

ACT Volunteers have been recognised for their contribution to both our local community and for their overseas aid work by the Member for Canberra, Gai Brodtmann. 

Ms Brodtmann officially presented certificates to the 2012 National Volunteer Awards recipients at Parliament House today. Joining the ACT Volunteer Award winners were Canberrans who have made valuable contributions as volunteers to Australia’s overseas aid program.

Ms Brodtmann said the National Volunteer Award recognised the contribution of local people to the local community.

Four Canberrans received awards today:

  • Jim Quick – Senior Volunteer Award

  • Lorraine and John Wright – Long-term Commitment to Community Service Award

  • Ian Goudie – Innovation in Volunteering Award and MP’s Volunteer of the Year

“These extraordinary people have made an outstanding contribution to Canberra and these Awards recognise their service to the community,” Ms Brodtmann said.

“The efforts of all volunteers in Canberra make our region a better place for everyone. On behalf of the people of Canberra, I congratulate these Volunteer award winners,” Ms Brodtmann said. 

Ms Brodtmann also presented Certificates of appreciation for Australian Overseas Aid Program volunteers. It is estimated that 14,000 Australians have served as part of this program, and Canberra has the highest volunteer rate in the country.  

“Australian volunteers overseas are doing an incredible service in assisting people and countries in need, and it is inspiring to see so many people from Canberra volunteering overseas,” Ms Brodtmann said.