Standing up for Canberra

11 Canberra Schools to go solar

Member for Canberra, Gai Brodtmann congratulated 11 local schools for receiving solar and renewable energy grants from the Gillard Government as part of its $420 million National Solar Schools Program.

The grants of up to $50,000 ($100,000 for multi-campus schools) allow schools to install solar and other renewable power systems and rainwater tanks and  implement a range of energy efficiency measures.

“This program allows schools to become smarter about their energy use and water conservation. It also gives students a first-hand opportunity to learn about renewable energy generation,” said Ms Brodtmann.

The schools receiving funding are:

Bonython Primary School $50,000
Chapman Primary School $50,000
Charles Conder Primary School $35,455
Duffy Primary School $50,000
Garran Primary School $50,000
Hughes Primary School $50,000
Canberra College $50,000
Wanniassa School $50,000
Yarralumla Primary School $50,000
Covenant College $50,000
Holy Family Primary School $50,000

Media Contact

John Snobar (Brodtmann): 0435 059 099