Gai Brodtmann was elected the Member for Canberra on 21 August 2010 and has extensive experience in the public, private and community sectors.

Gai ran her own small business for ten years and understands the challenges faced by small business owners. Prior to that, she was a federal public servant, primarily with Foreign Affairs and Trade and Attorney-General’s.

Gai has represented Australia in India and worked on a range of international and national issues, from Indigenous youth development and climate change to defence capability, tax and foreign policy.

As a volunteer director on the Gift of Life and Our Wellness boards, Gai helped to lift the profile of organ donation and raised funds for better health services in Canberra. She is a former director and audit committee member of the Cultural Facilities Corporation and ACTTAB and a former director of the National Press Club.

Gai is a Fellow of the Public Relations Institute of Australia, Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Chair of the Parliamentary Friends of Small Business group. She is patron of the Tuggeranong Bulldogs Junior Football Club, the Tuggeranong Netball Association and Arthritis ACT, and an ambassador for Ovarian Cancer Australia and Welcome to Australia.

Gai graduated with a Bachelor of Arts from the Australian National University, a Bachelor of Public Relations from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology and a Graduate Certificate in Business from Monash University.

She has tutored at the University of Canberra and studied North Asian perceptions of Australia’s strengths as a manufacturing nation as the 1989 Royce Fellow.

Gai’s public policy interests include education, small business, defence, foreign affairs, superannuation, financial literacy and public administration.

In October 2013, Gai was appointed Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Defence.

A long time Canberra resident, Gai enjoys cooking, gardening, architecture, visual arts, dance, walking, reading and spending time with her husband Chris Uhlmann.

Electorate of Canberra

Canberra covers an area of approximately 1 921 sq km including Capital Hill and adjacent suburbs, Weston Creek, Woden Valley, Stromlo, Tuggeranong, Oaks Estate, the industrial areas of Fyshwick and Hume and the remainder of the ACT to the south and west of the Murrumbidgee and Molonglo Rivers.

Those Norfolk Island residents entitled to enrol in the Australian Capital Territory are enrolled in the Division of Canberra.

If you would like more information on the electorate click here.